Getting Cold Feet

As exciting as studying abroad is, it can be a little intimidating, especially before you leave. Being by yourself in a “far-away” country is no small deal.  It’s understandable to face your upcoming semester abroad with apprehension. No matter how you feel, know that it’s okay and that you’re most definitely not alone.

I was terrified to go to Florence. I had spent two years psyching myself up for it, and then when I got in, I realized that I actually had to go. Everyone else was talking about how excited they were, or how they were “only a little nervous.” I felt like I was the only one whose nerves were greater than excitement. I found it helpful to talk to people who had studied abroad before. I also did a lot of journaling – I just wrote everything I was feeling, because I knew I would never get sick of listening to myself.

– Anah, Florence

I didn’t doubt my decision to go to London until I was on the flight over the UK, and all of a sudden it occurred to me that I’ll be in Europe for four months. However, by the time I arrived in London and saw all the other NYU students, I felt a lot better and forgot about my hesitations.

–         Gerri, London

I didn’t have a fear of going abroad because I felt Shanghai was a place I could easily become familiar with due to my Chinese background. If anything, I was ecstatic to spend a semester in a city I’ve heard so much about but had never personally experienced.

– Cheryl, Shanghai

I was so afraid of going abroad about two weeks before I left. I had never left the country for an extended period of time before. In fact, the only other time I had been out of the country was to visit a friend over Thanksgiving break who was studying in London. I cried to my mom and asked things like, “Why did I decide to do this? What was I thinking?!” But I told myself that I would have a good time and that things would be fine. My mom was really comforting. She said I would not regret my decision. She was right. Going to Ghana has been one of the most amazing and memorable experiences of my life.

– Chanelle, Ghana

I definitely did not have a fear of going abroad; actually, it was almost the complete opposite. I was glad to be getting out of my house because I’m a commuter, and I live at home with my parents. I was really looking forward to independence halfway across the world. I also thought it was good for me because I was born and raised in New York City.

Jennifer, Shanghai

I never thought I’d be scared to go abroad since I usually adapt to change and new situations pretty well. Up until the last few days before my flight, I was perfectly fine. I was even pretty excited to go abroad and see more of the world. But suddenly, without warning, I started to panic a little bit. Going to a place I’d never been to before scared me. I started to dread going and, for a while, regretted my decision to go abroad. I also felt a little weird because I thought I was the only one who felt that way. Everyone else seemed so excited, and everyone seemed to expect me to feel excited. I knew this was something I really wanted to do, so I stuck it out, and by the time I boarded my flight, most of my nerves were gone.

– Michelle, London

This entry was posted in Coping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

